Books I read in 2013

WhatIReadIn2013
Just the favorites list (because I don’t keep a record and I’m terrible at remembering). Also, yes, I read a lot of children’s books, so judge away.

Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis

The Good Women of China by Xinran (good anthropological read)

A Place in Time by Wendell Berry (short stories)

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery (reread)

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (so lyrical and introspective.)

Let the Circle be Unbroken by Mildred D. Taylor (a must-read)

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame (this was the most fun I’d had reading in a while.)

What Mothers do (especially when it looks like nothing) by Naomi Stadlen (helpful perspective, though some chapters were more worthwhile than others)

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Threads by Arlene Richardson

Naomi’s favorites:

The Foot Book by Dr. Seuss (aproximately 459386 times)

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do You See? by Eric Carle (double the number above and… you got it.)

I Will Surprise My Friend! by Mo Willems (Naomi loves to shout “BOO!” “YAY!” and “AAAH!” at the right –and wrong– moments)

Still working on:

Give Me this Mountain by Helen Roseveare

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (re-read)

The Warden and the Wolf King by Andrew Peterson (we were on the Kickstarter so we got the first 30 chapters sent to us as a PDF. Matthew and I have been reading to each other)
4 thoughts on “Books I read in 2013

  1. sloooowwwwww feeeeet….quickfeet! 😉
    Hooray for P&P re-reads!

    My mind had rather forgotten about Wind in the Willows, I think I’ll have to add it to list for both ‘big kids’ & little kids…

  2. I love Gilead! I always meant to read the sequel (Home) but at this point I think I’d have to reread the first to refresh my memory.

    And Till We Have Faces is my favorite Lewis, I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

